top of page
  • Oliver Q.

The Hobbit or there and back again by J.R.R Tolkien (5/5)


Bilbo Baggins, a Hobbit, lives a peaceful life before he is summoned for a quest by the great wizard Gandalf. He, Gandalf and some Dwarves that were volunteered commence a daring adventure deep into the “Lonely Mountains” to take back what was once theirs from the dragon Smaug, or what Bilbo calls, “Smaug the Tremendous ”. He is accompanied by Thorin, the leader of the dwarves. However, the path to riches is treacherous , filled with goblins, trolls, wolves, orcs, elves, and most of all, Dragons. Selfishness and greed fill the shire (the land of which this story takes place) once knowledge of the dragon's gold is revealed, and a devastating battle breaks out.


Personally, at first this book seemed like a boring reed, but as soon some comical and adventurous events happened, I was hooked. The description, foreshadowing and plain storytelling is very enjoyable. As I read this book, the events that took place were very cleverly placed so that I would feel suspense imagery and tone all at once throughout the whole book. There was not once in this book where I felt like there were “filler” events just to take more space, every sentence had meaning and essential elements to influence the key events that took place in this read. After I read this book, it heavily influenced me to try reading others similar to this because of how detailed and meaningful every event was.

A key/great way to read this book is to be determined by the reader. In my case, I couldn't stop, I kept reading until late nights because of how exciting and nerve-racking it was to just experience it. Take a pace at which you feel comfortable reading it. Furthermore, I thoroughly enjoyed the plot and story structure that this book offered and the way it was told. Frankly, this is the first/only fantasy book I've ever really tried, and it fully surpassed my expectations. It’s come to my knowledge that there is a movie in this book (i haven't watched it), I absolutely doubt that the movie would not be able to affect/live up to the standards of which the book has displayed. All in all, I honestly highly consider this book not because I have to write an assignment about it, but because it was a read that I sincerely enjoyed.



3 views

Σχόλια


bottom of page