top of page
  • Alya A.

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson (5/5)

For my book Love, I choose to read A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson, published on May 2, 2019, and can be described as a Young-adult mystery novel. I first heard about this book from friends and I heard nothing short about it. Everyone I know has read this book and who gets asked the question, “What’s it like?” goes on a whole tangent about it! There’s so much to talk about and the way the book is written makes the reader start to create their endings and speculations about the tiniest details. Although there is a second book to this series that I have not read I am certainly dying to know what else could be added to this. 


A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is about our main character named Pippa and for her high school senior project she investigates the murders of Andie Bell, and her alleged killer Sal Singh who was her boyfriend who took his own life shortly after Andie had gone missing. As Pippa digs deeper into the murders she starts to uncover current secrets that might’ve and probably shouldn't have ever seen the light of day. She is finding cracks in witnesses' stories about the events and finding out that Sal was innocent all along. Which then asks, “Who killed Andie”? She fights the fine line between finding the truth and hurting her relationships in her personal life in this case but in the end, it makes an enticing novel with themes of Justice, danger, discomfort, and uncertainty as it progresses. 


After reading this book, I say that it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time! So many plot twists and things I never saw coming. The one thing I was thinking the whole time is how seventeen-year-old Pippa is a better detective than the actual police! The amount of times she puts herself in danger or horrible situations is normal for Detective Pippa.  As a true crime and a murder mystery type of gal, this book differently gave me what I wanted. Although there were parts that were regulated through the investigation that had me rolling my eyes because I thought they were just unnecessary. But the ones that almost had my eyes popping out of my head were worth it! The plot twists were amazing! When I was reading I felt like Ravi to Pippa, helping her to make sense of all this madness and I felt like a little detective myself.  Overall if you want to read a book that will have you glued to your bed for the next 2 months or however long it takes for you to read it you found it! A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is an amazing thriller book with well-written characters and well-thought-out twists and endings. I’d recommend this book to anyone who wants a fun read! And I can confidently say that whenever someone is going to ask me “What's A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder like”? I’ll reply with, “How much time have you got”?

14 views

Comments


bottom of page