top of page
  • Lola M.

Ambush by James Patterson (4/5)

When I read the back of this book I had no interest in it. It was not the usual type of book I would have any will to read. It seemed boring and like it would have no plot. But I remembered that my eighth grade English teacher once told me to judge a book by its cover and not its back page. I Never really understood that until it came to this book. On the front it had a pick up line that got me interested. It got me hooked. It has no correlation with what I thought the book would be like which made me more interested. I also recalled that my English teacher told me I should go to page 100 and if I want to read to page 101 then I would probably be hooked on it. She was very right.

Whereas in most books the first couple chapters of books are slow, in Ambush’s first chapters they jumped straight into action. There was so much thought process in the mind of the kidnappers that it makes you give credit to the author for being able to come up with their in-depth plan. The creativeness of James Patterson is shown right away, but when you keep reading and get closer to the end it truly displays how much of a cinematic genius Patterson is. He starts off with the governor and his wife, and her tragic death, and intertwined in the book shows the detective's family struggles. A widowed father working 24/7 to give his adopted kids the life they deserve gets called into this case. The case of the Governor and many other people with power being held hostage at his wife's funeral.

Although this book is a thriller, it is not the usual thriller I would find myself reading. I picked it up at random in Barnes and Noble at the start of my third trimester because I knew I needed to read another book. By the third tri I have more homework, volleyball, dance, and work. Due to that I knew I needed a book that would be interesting enough that I would have the motivation to read through everything I had going on. This book I was successfully able to read and stay focused on. I still prefer my usual thriller novels, but this one was up to my standards. I would suggest this book to anyone looking for a mystery you cannot guess in the first couple chapters with confound twists and turns. I can admit that every night, although I was tired, I would look forward to reading this mystifying text.



3 views

Comments


bottom of page