top of page
  • Haley M.

Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins (5/5)




Whether you’ve read the books or not, I think every person is familiar with the Hunger Games, one of the most popular dystopian book series by Suzanne Collins. This series contains four different novels following the protagonist Katniss Everdeen. But the most recent novel, Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes is from the point of view of Coriolanus Snow, who is known as President Snow in previous novels. Taking place 64 years before Katniss Everdeen’s story, this book serves as a prequel. Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes is a story of heartbreak, suffrage, and distress, showing how Coriolanus becomes the twisted villain he is commonly known as. The story accomplishes the same thrill that previous novels have while also giving a completely new perspective to the world. We get to see the districts and culture of Panem from fresh eyes, it is especially different due to Coriolenus’ status. A boy who lives with the rich but has the same amount of money as the poor. While reading I found myself feeling sorry for Snow, putting myself in his shoes I was able to have empathy for him. After reading I was able to see how his childhood heavily affected his dictatorship in previous novels. It served as an explanation for all the wicked actions that he would commit in the future. I had previously hated President Snow when I first read the series but my opinion changed after reading his story and I think many others can relate. My heart aches for Snow but at the same time his actions as President are unforgivable. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes is an unforgettable and crucial part of the series. Even after re-reading the book several times and knowing what’s going to happen I still get the same feeling of thrill and suspense, the book has several haunting moments that stick in the back of your mind and resurface here and there. Suzanne Collins was able to write a compelling and memorable story which was rightfully adapted into film, the film itself is a stunning piece of work which I have re-watched several times. Each character in the book is written realistically and the reasoning behind many of their actions are complex. I had to take time after reading to think about why Snow did many of the things he did. This creates room for theories and interpretation from the reader making the book all the more enjoyable. Overall Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes is a thrilling and astounding read, a book I would recommend to every person.



7 views

Comments


bottom of page