top of page
  • Micaela S.

Beach Read by Emily Henry (3/5)

The book beach read did not actually take place on a beach. Though it is misinterpreting, the setting of a bay house was close enough. After reading it through I gathered that it was a bit repetitive, the plot seemed to replicate the same situations, and took a while to get to the climax of the story, not occurring until the last quarter of the book. The book is about a young woman struggling with family issues and untimely moving to a place she never would have seen herself residing in. As the book follows a rom-com plot she confides in good friendship with her next-door neighbor. They are both authors but of completely different genres, which is something they can bond over. This book is about identity and figuring out who you are and who you want to be. Without the help of those the main character, January, meets and those who support her she would have never got a hold of her life. This book was not unenjoyable but it did take me a while to get through I would not say that it was a ¨must read¨, but a good outlet for everyday reading. I did not learn or take any lessons from it which is personally not my preference, I prefer to read something to learn and gather vital information but it was a good light read. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy rom-coms and light reading. For those who like to read with no pressure, I would say this book was easy to pick up and leave off on because of the plot, which was not too strong nor did this book include any strong, key, plot-changing points. If you are looking for something to read in a short amount of time and something to easily follow through with, I would suggest this book to you.


0 views

Comments


bottom of page