top of page
  • Amber H.

Coraline(5/5)


The tragic, unescapable story of Coraline. A 9-year-old, ungrateful for what she had, wants more, only to find a little door located in her living room. This door is not just a door, but it leads Coraline to the “other world”, a better version of her home, family, and friends where she gets everything she desires, but with a price. The dangerous piece of this book is that it is easy to lure in a naive, desiring 9- year old, and that is why Coraline is the victim. The intention of Neil Gaiman's writing this book was to show someone’s lack of thankfulness, hopefully helping the readers gain thankfulness. Neil Gaiman clearly showed deep imagination while creating the fiction book.


The book of Coraline carries a sense of mystery and a giving of imagination to the readers. As I was reading, I couldn’t help myself from creating conspiracy theories and letting my thoughts wander, which is why I recommend this book to readers that are ready for loads of creativity, mystery, and imagination. I learned that Neil Gaiman’s writing style was 20% of his imagination and 80% of the readers’. He allows us readers to create the theories we wish for, and an ending we desired, which I very much agree with.


Moreover, in my opinion, I believe that Neil Gaiman’s writing style and intentions of almost scaring a child into learning a lesson are similar to the author Joan Aiken, who writes scary horror stories for children. Just because there is quite a lot of imagination and ethereal ideas in the book, doesn’t mean it is just for children. The book’s lessons can reach all ages, parent or not a parent, the list goes on. Reading Coraline was a good reminder to me that I should be more grateful for the great and simple things in life. Many times I spend my days dwelling on what I don’t have, or even the state of what I do have when I should be living in the present and thankful for what I have.


Overall, Coraline is an excellent book, targeting many if not all of the points that a book requires to be great. I felt that Neil Gaiman really incorporated entertainment, imagination, and morals. For potential readers, let your mind explore the possibilities this book offers.



Word Count: 390 words





7 views

Comentários


bottom of page