top of page
  • Aaron J.

Divergent by Veronica Roth (4/5)

Divergent by Veronica Roth (Harper Collins Publishing, 2011) is a young adult, science fiction, dystopian. The government controls the society by separating the people into five factions, forcing them to conform their identities. Divergent is the first of three Divergent novels set in a future post apocalyptic version of Chicago. In a future Chicago, sixteen year old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions. The factions are Dauntless, the brave soldiers, Amity, the kind, Erudite, the intelligent, Abnegation, the selfless, and Candor, the honest. Her choice will define her identity for the rest of her life. This decision is made more difficult when she discovers that she is a Divergent who does not fit into any one faction and the society she lives in is not perfect after all. I thought the book was entertaining to read because it keeped my attention, it had action and keeped me interested. I also thought it interesting when I thought of the story compared to our normal society. Overall, the book was interesting and definitely entertaining. It keeped me reading because I wanted to see what happened to some of the characters and how they developed throughout the story. I would recommend this book to students or anyone in general who is looking for a good young adult, sci-fi, and dystopian book with a little action.


4 views

Comments


bottom of page