top of page
  • Carissa L.

Notes from My Captivity by Kathy Parks (4/5)


Kathy Parks is an author of different novels and Notes From My Captivity is her most recent, young-adult book. Most of her books were for children, but two of her books were for young adults. Keep in mind, parts of this book have horror, romance, violence, and sensitivity. Notes From My Captivity was based on a real-life Russian family that was isolated in the wilderness for 40 years. The setting takes place in a forest located in Siberia. The perspective is first-person and your protagonist is Adrienne Cahill. A 17-year-old girl is studying to become a reporter after an incident occurred towards her late father. Her stepfather Dan invites her to investigate a family known as the Osinovs along with other film people.

Honestly speaking, this book was quite entertaining and taught a couple of life lessons. Despite the protagonist going through an adventure, it’s a book to not put down. The first portion of the book is a bit slow, as you are learning about the main character and other events. I rate this book a four, due for that reason. Other than that, quite a pleasant reading. Some issues the book raises are car crashes, forgiveness, and privacy. Yes, the list seems quite random but once you read the book, everything makes sense.

Compared to other authors, Kathy Parks makes this fiction book quite realistic and it feels like watching a movie. I would love to see if someone can create a movie based on this book because the intensity and emotion are amazing. Originally, I was interested in a specific category of books, and they turned out to be historical fiction. This gave me some diversity in different book themes such as romance, action, or thrillers. All of them give different types of emotion and connection.

Besides the book context, my personal opinion, and lessons this book changed my entire perspective of books. It challenged me to become more acceptive of different authors. Seeing different perspectives and situations would prepare me in becoming a better leader. As empathy is an important factor in understanding people. If you are interested in small segments of book categories, I recommend this one!



5 views

Comments


bottom of page