top of page
  • Samantha A.

Red Dragon by Thomas Harris (5/5)

Red Dragon is a novel about a man, Will Graham, who was previously retired from working in the FBI, being brought back into the world. His old boss needs his unique way of thinking to help find a new killer- a man called the Tooth Fairy. Graham is reluctant, as he was traumatized by the last killer he caught, Hannibal “the Cannibal” Lecter, but agrees to help anyway. The book starts with Graham’s point of view but cuts to the killers in some chapters, helping build the suspense and thrill of the book. It follows the difficult process of trying to find a killer, while also showing the killer’s own process of trying to balance his own trauma and the crimes he commits. You may have heard of the character ‘Hannibal Lecter’ before, but this is the beginning of his story (and it's not even his story!).

This book quickly became my favorite novel of all time, and while putting aside my personal preference, it is written amazingly insightfully, with interesting commentary regarding the way the public can react to crimes. I really do think that this book really is the highest quality of any of Harris’ other novels. It kept my attention and I enjoyed my time reading it immensely. The contents interested me even though I’m not that into crime media, with the way Harris explained things being interesting and keeping me on my toes. 

I believe that things is a great novel that kept my interest and made me want to keep reading more both of the story as well as from the author. The characters have so much depth and you get to know them closely, with Harris’ writing drawing the reader into their world expertly. There are a few warnings I want to give; this book has graphic descriptions of wounds and possibly dead bodies, child abuse, mentions of necrophilia, murder, as well as sexual references and scenes. This is an adult novel centering around violent and cruel murders, going into depth of the crimes committed. I loved this book and I recommend it to all who

enjoy psychological thrillers as well as twists and turns!



4 views

Comments


bottom of page