top of page
  • Charlotte O.

The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen (4/5)

A young, cunning orphan named Sage is forcibly “adopted” by a nobleman named Bevin Conner, along with two other boys. After being taken to his house they find out why they have been taken there. Years ago the prince of their kingdom (Jaron) went missing, and after unsuccessful searching the kingdom has awaited his return. Bevin Conner plans to send one of the boys to the palace at a party to pretend to be the long lost prince, with him as their puppetmaster. Whoever of the three boys is closest in mannerisms and abilities (at the end of the time before the party) to prince Jaron will become ‘the false prince’. However the other two boys will be killed.

This book grabbed my attention very early on. It was fast paced and exciting, but the plot still unfolded gradually. Whenever I find a good book, I usually read it in a day; which I did for this one! The writing was vivid, the dialogue witty, and the characters were likable (when they were supposed to be). The author does a great job of developing the characters and the plot smoothly. There were several twists (particularly at the end!) that I would never have predicted.

As a whole, I would say this is a really solid novel! It’s part of an ongoing series and the books that I have read in the series are just as good as this one is. I have practically no critiques, except that the main character does seem to get beat up quite a bit… and sometimes it doesn’t really add much to the plot. If you’re looking for a good read then I would strongly recommend this! It’s a great book, (and there aren’t any magical elements in it if that’s not your thing). My advice would be to definitely pick it up, and to make sure you have the next book in the series, because you’ll want it!



8 views

Comments


bottom of page