top of page
  • Jayden G.

The Inheritance Games (4/5)

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is about a teenager named Avery who lives a life without much luxury in her small Connecticut town, until one day, when she’s informed that she’s listed in a rich man's (Tobias Hawthorne’s) will. From that moment on, her life is never the same. Avery’s just inherited a fortune. Now it’s time to figure out why. Why did a small-town girl who lives with her older sister fall heir to billions of dollars? Why her of all people? Soon Avery starts discovering clues that could lead her to discover the true motives behind what’s really going on. And suddenly, our heroine isn’t as safe as she thought. This book was a really fun mystery. We get to solve the puzzle along with the main character. In my opinion, The Inheritance Games was an enjoyable read that made me feel close to the main characters and connected to the storyline. I also got to learn about what it would be like to be an heir to a huge fortune, and it would not be easy! The story had a compelling plot that made me not want to stop reading. The characters were written with great detail, which made me feel like I was standing right next to them solving the mystery the whole time. Plus, the scenery in the book is very unique and didn’t feel like the setting of any book I’ve read before. All in all, I would recommend this book to anyone who’s interested in a young-adult mystery with hints of romance. I gave this book a 4 because it was a truly intriguing read that kept me hooked for the whole novel; yet throughout the book I felt like it was an unrealistic situation. When would this ever happen in real life? How can this be called realistic fiction? And yet, the mystery aspect was interesting enough that it caused me to only dock one star. The mystery portion really made me think while I was reading. Like, why did Avery of all people get chosen for the will? Why are all four of Tobias Hawthorne’s grandsons (who are Avery’s age) acting like they’re hiding something? But by the end of the book I knew the answers to my questions and found myself ready to purchase the sequel. I suggest that readers of this book prepare themselves…for a great puzzle!



9 views

댓글


bottom of page