top of page
  • Amber H.

The Lake by Natasha Preston(2/5)

After reading The Lake by Natasha Preston, there were multiple feelings. This book was intended to be a thriller, but I would say that that aspect was lacking. Especially in the beginning, when all it portrayed was a bit of adventure. In the beginning, the problem was addressed very early, which I am not going to spoil.

Throughout the duration of the book, two friends Esme and Kayla intended to have a fun summer, volunteering to be camp counselors at a camp they had attended when they were younger. This plan had taken a deep turn when trying to hide a dark secret that if exposed, could damage everything.

What I found interesting in this story was the secret, and the strive to keep it safe. It was also intriguing to me to be able to make my own conspiracy theories to mysteries, whether they were right or wrong. But I also found it very annoying that the secret was revealed all at once to the audience at the beginning of the story, it made everything feel so predictable.

Furthermore, when Preston introduced Kayla to the story, she went for a very extra, stereotypical preppy girl. I did not agree with this because I don’t agree that preppy girls always have to have blonde hair, fake spray tan, and an obsession with pink. The possibilities of this book are great, Natasha Preston made space to let the audience’s minds wander in the different conspiracies of secrets. When reading this book, I noticed that Preston added multiple perspectives of culture which gave me more insight of my knowledge. She distributed different, unique characteristics to the characters which made it easy to differentiate one from another. Additionally, this book affected me in a good way, it let my mind explore my imagination, and the ending fulfilled the thriller aspect of the story.

Overall, The Lake was a very basic story, but the ending made up for it all. With a dark secret, a variety of perspectives, and a thrilling ending, this book left me satisfied.


11 views

Comments


bottom of page