top of page
  • Imane E.

The Magician´s Workshop by Hasen Fehr (4/5)

As I read the book The Magicians WSokshop Volume Two, by Hasen Fehr, It brought up lots of emotion and thrilling, jaw-dropping sequences of events that really pull the readers in to read through it all. First I would give this rating a 4 because I think with the genre of fantasy it can become really hard to imagen monsters and put the sense of a dystopian society in mind put the author really pulled through and used the best of his imagery to portray different emotions throughout. As stated above the genres that this book falls into are, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Teen Coming of Age.

To give a short summary without really giving away the important plot twists, I would say this book all starts off with an Island called O´Ceea which holds magical powers. Most of which are things you wish to have, for example, if I wanted to read minds I would just hope and then I got it, but then again it doesn't just come naturally for some to want many different magical and unimaginable powers. This leads us to the main protagonist in the novel, Layuana who is a young girl living on this island with her family and friends. In her family and overall island tradition, it is said that whoever masters all of the magical powers will be granted whatever they desire like wealth, love, comfort, and much more. So with this Layuans and her friends set to go on an adventure to try and master all the magical abilities known. But there is always one thing that is blocking in their way and that is the prejudice they face being children and their nature. Layuana wants to become a master in order to help others and overall be a better leader in her community while her friend Kai is doing this for fun and to hand out with his friends, but everyone else just thinks that he can't even control the smallest bit of magic let alone become a full magician.

I found this book to be very interesting and fun to read, it is narrated from Layuana´s point of view so there is a sense of childish humor which is always a little fun. I think the author gives a challenge in his summary for the readers to be more pulled in which is fun and I believe you are satisfied with the ending so I would agree with the author's opinion on the book. As I said in the genres that the last one was Teenb coming of age because although the book was going at a pretty fast pace, the friends in the book were always looked down upon, and even with that Kai and layuana strived and worked through their struggles. This book affected my way of really looking at the world on a better and as a larger scale. I think we should really set goals for ourselves and not let others disregard your opinion as Kai presented, and hope for a better society and community as Layuana has. All in all, I would recommend this book to my classmates and others to add to their must-read books, I again would not give it a 5 as it would have to be perfect but it was a good and easy book to read and to lighten up the mood a little bit.



1 view

Commentaires


bottom of page