top of page
  • Alex W.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (5/5)


Say that you are a classics student, who has recently read The Iliad, but you don’t really understand it, or maybe just want it from a different perspective. Maybe you just appreciate good writing. If any of these are true, you will appreciate The Song of Achilles. It’s a retelling of The Iliad from Patroclus’ perspective. It’s sweet, sad, and will make you cry. It tugs at your heartstrings, and you will find yourself rooting for both of them. It portrays trauma and grief fairly well. This book is an absolute rollercoaster of emotions, and nearly impossible to put down. The first time I read it, I stayed up all night just reading this absolute masterpiece of a book. There are a lot of things that I would give to be able to read this book again for the first time. The way that this book handles the passage of time, guilt and tragedy are amazing. The lines are raw as well. “Achilles’ eyes were bright in the firelight, his face drawn sharply by the flickering shadows. I would know is in dark or disguise, told myself. I would know it even in madness.” (Madeline Miller) That quote alone is enough to make me cry, because of the beauty, and the pain of the circumstance when it is said. It makes you question the world, think about love, examine your actions, and feel. I loved this book, and you should read it as well.

3 views
bottom of page