top of page
  • Lola M.

The Firm by John Grisham (5/5)

“You must read this book,” my dad exclaimed. It was a big claim coming from him because he knows I’m not a big reader. Usually I’d rather spend my time on my phone or doing something more productive, but I also knew I needed another book to read. I skeptically took his advice and bought The Firm By: John Grisham. Prior to this extravagant, fascinating, and hair-raising novel I had read a couple of Grisham's pieces of art, but I have never encountered such a well written book. This thriller mystery novel includes a recurring theme of justices and injustices. It’s portrayed through Grisham's small cumulative details on the main character, Mitch McDeere, and his encounters with his big new law firm Bendini, Lambert & Locke. When he was offered the job he was a naive college grad with a wife, brother in prison, and little to no money to his name desperate for a job. They gave Mitch an offer he couldn't refuse, a house in Memphis, a BMW paid for for 3 years, moving costs, full health care for him and his future family, and 85,000 his first year, and that only goes up every year. Blind to the fact that the deal was too good to be true he signed on. After he and his wife moved to Memphis they started to notice some of the strange things about the firm. They constantly insisted that they start a family, they would not hire women, and there was recently an untimely death of the two newest partners with a shaky alibi. Mitch finds himself with a surprise encounter from the FBI persisting to get his help to take the firm down and expose them for what they were truly doing. Getting caught in between the FBI and the shocking truths of his law firm he must decide who he is going to help, knowing it's a life or death situation. This book will constantly keep you on your toes, and is perfect for someone looking for a law thrilling read. It does take focus and is not a short read if you want to take in and understand the whole book, but I would still highly recommend it. My favorite books are ones that change my perspective on something, and I would say this book checked that off. It changed how I procive situations to see if I’m getting my fair share of things, and if something seems too good to be true it probably is. Coming from someone who is not a big reader this book successfully grabbed my attention and kept it all the way through. If you are someone who is looking for a captivating thriller I can wholeheartedly suggest this masterpiece to you.


3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page