top of page
  • Sonali S.

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (4/5)

Updated: Feb 27, 2023

The Inheritance Games is about a lower-class, very intelligent teenage girl named Avery Grambs who grew up with very little money. She leads a normal life, hoping to go to college to be able to provide for herself as she becomes an adult, when one day, she learns that her presence is required at a billionaire’s will reading. There, she finds out that this billionaire (whom she has never met) has given his family very little money and left her the rest of his possessions (48 billion dollars and his entire mansion). His entire family is furious and everyone is very confused. Suddenly, the entire dynamic changes around the house - people become cold towards Avery (or even mysterious). Avery, along with the billionaire’s four grandsons, are set to find the reason why this man has left Avery Grambs essentially everything he owns.

This book for me was an extremely interesting read. I was not able to put it down at all- with all of the twists and turns that made your heart beat faster than it should. The author's captivating style of writing engulfs the reader in a sea of emotion and fantasy, as you truly feel like you are in the story while reading this book. The beautiful and intricate descriptions of Greyson and Jameson’s eyes left me thinking about them just as much as the main character. I read this book within two days, and especially with a very busy schedule, this shows how I was so glued to it. The plot twists were unexpected and clever with some additional witty humor to lighten the mood, this book possesses all key factors to a great read.

I would classify this book as a fantasy, young-adult, mystery read. My advice is to read it when you know you have the space and time as I was not able to do my daily activities without thinking of it every second. I give this book a 4 out of 5 as it was one of the better books I have read recently. I cannot wait to read the second book and I highly recommend this one. Happy reading!


0 views

Comments


bottom of page